Slick Forums

Discuss the Slick 2D Library
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Unable to drag widgets
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:41 am
Posts: 22
My UI tree is as following:

DesktopArea
- DesktopArea
- - ResizableFrame
- - ResizableFrame
- DesktopArea
- - ResizableFrame
- - ResizableFrame

The top DesktopArea is my main container for the UI. The first DesktopArea child is a container for a login screen and the second DesktopArea is a container for the game UI. Now, in the login screen I can drag widgets etc, everything works fine. In the game UI, widget reordering works (eg, widget x is over widget y, focus turns to widget y and then widget y is over x), but I cannot seem to drag my widgets around there. I set dragable to true, but well, it doesn't seem to want to do it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:01 am 
Offline
Slick Zombie

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 1242
Maybe the size of one of your DesktopAreas ais 0 (or too small)?
In general if you put other widgets besides ResizableFrame inside a DesktopArea you will need to override layout() and layout these.

_________________
TWL - The Themable Widget Library


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:41 am
Posts: 22
I made sure that all my DesktopArea's cover 800 x 600 and are set to absolute 0, 0.

I also had a layout function for the malfunctioning DA, but didn't layout any of the RF's in there. Reason? Because I have about 20 RF's in there that get created and deleted on the fly, and I hate having to do nullchecks everywhere. Is it really neccesary to do the setPosition and setSize in the layout function for each and every of those RF's? Their location, size and stuff works fine and in the screen that works I have some RF's that are not included in the layout function and set their own position in their constructor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 am 
Offline
Slick Zombie

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 1242
ResizableFrame inside DesktopArea is the only widget which works with setPosition/setSize outside of layout().
But you should make sure that the DesktopArea is part of the GUI tree and has a theme when you add new ResizableFrames - otherwise methods like adjustSize() don't work.

_________________
TWL - The Themable Widget Library


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group